Old 04-08-2010, 10:56 PM   #1  
Ready for a change!

S/C/G: S/C/G: 277/277/150

Height: 5'8"

Smile Pedometers/HR monitors?

Hey everyone!!

Just wondering if any of you use pedometers? Does it motivate you to walk more just to see a higher numbers? lol and if so, what's a good (cheap) brand??

Also a heart rate monitor? I'm totally new with this kind of stuff so excuse any stupid questions Will a heart rate monitor also tell me how many calories I'm burning while working out?

Any and all replies will be greatly appreciated
love114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 12:09 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 263/171.0/132

Height: 5'6

I use an Accusplit pedometer but not for motivation. It's an accountability goal thing. I aim for at least bare minimum of 10,000 steps a day and then I can play around with goal setting too. One week I had a goal set for 20,000 steps a day. It's a useful tool.

I've heard good things about the Gruve and the Bodybugg but personally, could care less about them. I've heard they work well though so you could look into that
Jess7286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 09:08 AM   #3  
PCOS/IR/Hypothyroid

Quote:
Also a heart rate monitor? I'm totally new with this kind of stuff so excuse any stupid questions Will a heart rate monitor also tell me how many calories I'm burning while working out?
Yes, it will tell you calories burned. I like Polar, and I suggest the simplest one possible. Not only is it cheaper, but most people never use the extra bells and whistles.

A.
astrophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 11:48 AM   #4  
Starting Fresh

Height: 5'2"

When I use my pedomoter it is awesome. I set a goal to get into 10,000 steps a day and if I got those steps in and watching my eating - I lost weight like nothing. (maybe I should do that again!)