Old 01-11-2008, 12:11 PM   #1  

Default Do You Monitor Your Intake?

Whatever version of low carb you're doing, do you track your calories/fat/protein/carbs such as in Fitday?

If you track your calories, how many calories are you taking in and why? If you track your carbs, how many carbs are you taking in?

I do both. My calories vary widely depending on what I've done at the gym. I burn over 3500 calories a day between my BMR and working out, so my trainers advised a higher intake for weight loss. I eat anywhere from a low of 1600 to a high of 2600 on average. My carbs average 12-25%/day.

I don't seem to lose weight on the lower calories and have to go above 2300 when I want to lose weight....
JerseyGirl69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 01:12 PM   #2  
Larry's Angel

Location: NW New Jersey But, My Heart's In Pittsburgh!! GO STEELERS & PENGUINS!!!

S/C/G: 245/143/145

I've been doing Atkins for almost 4 years now and have never counted calories...only carbs. I stay at about 30-35 carbs per day, concentrating mainly on veggies & salad. I've learned to keep my intake of cheese to approx. 1 oz per day. As for meats, I eat mainly chicken, fish, pork & turkey...occasionally, beef. I do eat low carb/low sugar yogurt every morning (3 carbs). I don't drink anything but water & decaf herbal tea's.
JerseyGyrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 01:28 PM   #3  

With atkins, how are you "counting carbs" and is the # of carbs your saying grams?
Old 01-11-2008, 01:39 PM   #4  
Larry's Angel

Location: NW New Jersey But, My Heart's In Pittsburgh!! GO STEELERS & PENGUINS!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JerseyGirl69 View Post
With atkins, how are you "counting carbs" and is the # of carbs your saying grams?
I count net carbs...total carbs deducting fiber.
Old 01-11-2008, 02:14 PM   #5  

Net grams. OK
Old 01-11-2008, 02:44 PM   #6  
Lovin' Life

S/C/G: 300/too much/155

I keep track with fitday.