General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 12-17-2007, 02:41 PM   #1  
I'm a Loser ;)

S/C/G: SCG: 255/see ticker/160

Height: 5'9"

Question TOM Question

Since I started losing weight, I've noticed that my flow is heavier than it used to be. Is this normal, or something I should keep an eye on? Maybe just the excess blood being removed from my body (does that make sense)?

Thanks. Sorry kinda gross
tamaralynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 02:58 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 292/144/145

Height: 5'10"

Me too. And my cycle is shorter. I used to be 31-32 days and now its usually 27-28. I'll be interested to see if anybody has any opinions cause I'm a little sick of feeling like I'm always about to start my period.
Robin41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 03:46 PM   #3  
so close, yet so far...

S/C/G: wanna be 135

Height: 5'3"

I am not a doctor (nor do I claim to be, even on TV ) but in my experience, with weight loss and weight gain, the fluctuating estrogen levels will wreak havoc on my cycle. I would say any drastic change in your weight and exercise levels will affect your cycle, including the length, amount of flow, etc., unless of course, you are on some type of BCP or hormonal treatment for birth control.

At my highest weights, my cycle actually stops for a few months, then comes on for months at time, which is a nightmare. This has happened to me twice and both times it spurred me to #1) See the OB/GYN and get a Rx for BCP and #2) Get back on the ball and eat healthy, exercise and as a consequence, lose the weight. It eventually goes back to a more normal (whatever normal is for you) pattern. If it continues to get heavier or longer than is normal for you, I would definitely recommend a visit to the doctor.
melekalikimaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 06:20 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 207/200/135

Height: 5'8