Old 10-04-2007, 04:12 PM   #1  

Smile Tips for Thanksgiving

Hey All,

I'm new to LAWL, just this week! Bad timing for its Thanksgiving in Canada this weekend and I have TWO dinners to go to. Any tips or tricks anyone has would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Marley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:16 PM   #2  
Megan

S/C/G: size 14/ pudgy size 10/Size 8

Height: 5'5"

Protein and simple veggies. Ignore any potato dishes. Works like a charm. That's how I got trhough both Thanksgiving and X-mas last year with losing weight both times.
marzbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:43 PM   #3  

Thanks Marzbe! It will be hard to ignore the potatoes, but it will be worth it in the end!
Old 10-04-2007, 05:44 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 160

Height: 5'7

Also portion control always does the trick. Dont go back for 2nds. Remember we should eat to live not live to eat.
3plusme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 08:08 PM   #5  
Tina

Height: 5'5"

Hey Marley,
I'll be celebrating Thanksgiving this weekend as well. If you're doing the cooking, the La Lite cookbook has a few on plan recipes for some of the holiday favourites. For me it's the stuffing. I'm going to make that one for myself so I can still feel like I'm having my holiday indulgence without completely blowing it. Happy Thanksgiving!
Ternoway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 08:46 PM   #6  

Height: 5'2"

Like Megan said eat protein and simple veggies. What I have done in my planning for the day is to skip my protein at breakfast and instead have something like a low fat yogurt parfait with fruit for breakfast. Maybe also a starch like fiber one or oatmeal if you have enough starches to use up.
I have 2 1/2 P for the day on Plan 2 so then I can have the extra protein that I saved from breakfast at the special meal. It helps to save the protein, I find, because I have to eyeball the portion size instead of weighing the protein like I would do at home.