Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 09-10-2007, 09:56 AM   #1  
Binge Day 2

S/C/G: 206/192/140

Height: 5'2

Default calf muscles.

Ok Ya'll I have been working very hard to walk 6/7 days, taking one rest day (sunday). Today I walked almost a mile. I would really like to build up to running that way I can do the C25K. But I feel like its going to be hard. When I walked today my cal muscles felt like they was about to bust out of my skin. Are they suppose to feel like this? What is a good way to build up to running instead of walking?
JBak590 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 10:17 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 225/ticker/150

Height: 5'7 1/2

I'm no expert, and I'm sure someone can give you better advice, but my advice, if you want to do C25k, is keep walking. You have to do a lot of walking anyway with C25K, in between the running. How long have you been walking? Maybe you just need more time and you will not feel as taxed when you walk.
LeedaRenee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 10:24 AM   #3  
Binge Day 2

I just started walking last week.
Old 09-10-2007, 10:56 AM   #4  
Raised by a cup of coffee

S/C/G: 220.4/162

Height: 5'8"

You need to stretch before you walk! I usually do a bunch of stretches, but the one you should do is called the Gastroc Stretch. You can find other stretches here:
http://www.halhigdon.com/15Ktraining/Stretch.htm
I do the Gastroc Stretch, Quadriceps Stretch, and Hamstring Stretch before every walk and jog.
modkittn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 11:14 AM   #5  
Binge Day 2

Thanks. I'm going to have to try them!
Old 09-11-2007, 12:06 AM   #6  

If the front of your calves hurt, you've got shin splints. Google that, and deal appropriately.

If it's the back of your calves, just give it time and keep walking.
MariaMaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 01:01 AM   #7  
Starting Over

S/C/G: 255/255/155

Height: 5'7"