Whole Foods Lifestyle For discussion of whole foods and more natural diets.

Old 04-14-2007, 11:16 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 168/165/135

Height: 5'7"

Red face Totally new to Whole Foods...Help me!

I've been very addicted to sugar, flour-y stuff and coffee for a long long time.

I gained quite a bit of weight over the last 6 years (that I blamed on menopause..but the truth is I was eating whatever I wanted all the time).

Recently I did my 2nd "master cleanse". I know that master cleanse is very controversial.. but it has been a great kick start for me to seriously re-evaluate my diet. Once I stop the cleanse I REALLY want to learn to eat properly. I know (for myself) that I need to avoid flour, sugar and caffeine..those have been my "weaknesses" that probably made me feel hungry. I think I am leaning toward the whole food way of life.

What books should I read? I don't want to bog myself down..what TWO/THREE books are the best?
What major tips do you have for a neophite like me?

Thank you...I think I belong here. I appreciate your advice.

Celeste
DaisyRafferty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 12:05 AM   #2  
Just Me

S/C/G: 364/--/182

Height: 5'6"

Superfoods RX is a great book to read. It tells you what foods you should be eating and why.

Major tips -
Read labels and know what is in the food you buy
Shop the parameter of the shopping market rather than the aisles
Avoid processed foods
Eat plenty of veggies, fruit, whole grains, legumes, lean meats and low fat dairy
Learn how to cook for yourself if you don't already

Those are the big ones that I can think of right now.
nelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 12:12 AM   #3  

Welcome Celeste. Glad to have you aboard.