Old 03-05-2007, 04:23 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 259/169/160

Height: 5'5"

Default What do "NS" and "NFS" mean in FitDay?

Hi all,

I am new to FitDay (and loving it!) and I can't find an explanation of what "NS" and "NFS" stand for in food titles. For example:

--Salad dressing, low-calorie, NFS
--Orange, mandarin, canned or frozen, NS as to sweetened or unsweetened; sweetened, NS as to type of sweetener

I was thinking "NS" might stand for "Not Sure" but I don't know and that still doesn't help with NFS.

Explanations would be most appreciated, as would a link to wherever you might be able to find this info on the FitDay site... as I couldn't find it anywhere.

Thanks in advance!

Holly
hollyannie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 04:34 PM   #2  
Dieting Diva

I wondered the same thing !
sirak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 04:36 PM   #3  
Baby steps

S/C/G: 280/270/160

Height: 5'8"

NFS = not further specified
NS = not specified
Wildfyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 04:40 PM   #4  
Meg

Hi Holly! I wondered the same thing until someone clued me in. NS stands for 'not specified' and NFS is 'not further specified'. Fitday used the USDA database and those are USDA abbreviations, so that's how they ended up in Fitday.

So in your orange example:

Orange, mandarin, canned or frozen, NS as to sweetened or unsweetened; sweetened, NS as to type of sweetener

it means you didn't specifiy whether the oranges were sweetened or unsweetened, and if there were sweetened, with what. So Fitday assigns a generic calorie count, probably partway between sweetened and unsweetened. You can see that it's not very accurate, but if that's all the information you have, it's Fitday's best guess.

In your other example:

Salad dressing, low-calorie, NFS

it means Not Further Specified - if you don't have any more details, like was it creamy? Or oil based? Again, Fitday gives you its best guess based on the information you have.