Old 02-19-2007, 05:27 AM   #1  
DollyR

S/C/G: GW - 145

Height: 5'6"

Default Thyroid Problems?

Anyone here have thyroid problems? I was treated by my old family doctor through my teen years with a pill and monthly or bimonthly blood tests. I thought they said at the time I grew out of it.....then he retired. I trusted him and so I never did anything else about it.

Now as I read through recent information you never grow out of it. I am going to have tests doen just to double check but when I read the symptons I have many if not all of the symptons. I was wondering if any of you chicks have this problem and what exactly happens if they find something is wrong.
DollyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 08:38 AM   #2  
1/2 Marathon May 15 2011

S/C/G: see ticker

Height: 5'0"

I have thyroid problems... and yes, you never do out grow it. I was told I'd have to take a pill for the rest of my life. (I'm not good with taking pills - just ask my 2 children - oops!

I've taken the pill for a few months.. (twice I've done this) and nothing. I felt nothing before.. and I felt no better by taking the pill. So right now I'm off of it.

Are you tired all the time? I am... but couldn't that just be because I'm fat?
How are you feeling?

By taking the pill - is it supposed to help or hurt your weight lose efforts?

Dana
Charbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 10:08 AM   #3  
~~Maintainer!~~

S/C/G: 346/186/186

Height: 5' 9"

I'm hypothyroid. I didn't discover it until I had lost about 50 lbs, so I don't know if I felt more energetic because I had lost 50 lbs then (much more now of course) or because my thyroid levels were balanced out.

DollyR, If I were you I would definitely ask my doctor to retest the levels. If you're hypothyroid, weight loss is a little more difficult as your metabolism is slowed. Untreated hypothyroid would make it even more difficult.

I've never heard of anyone growing out of it, but I'm no expert.