Old 08-05-2006, 09:55 AM   #1  
loving my beautiful self

Height: 5'5"

Question weighing yourself - how often?

I was watching Oprah recently and her trainer suggested not weighing yourself for 2 months when you first start out, because it takes your body a while to get used to all the changes (fluid I think) your body's experiencing.

I thought this might be a good idea that way I would commit more to exercising than the numbers on the scale, but I don't want to lose too much or gain weight either - after all, 2 months is a long time! So if I'm just starting out, the scale might be a good way of helping me along to gauge if I'm eating and exercising enough rather than too little or too much. but I have trouble enough as it is not weighing myself more than once a week (hehe) so 2 months would be a huge thing!

how often do you generally weigh yourselves? is once per week a good idea?
beautifulone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 10:01 AM   #2  
fighting the sugar demon!

S/C/G: 281/263.9/190

Height: 5'8.5

I started out only weighing once a month. Then I moved to once a week and tracked the numbers. Pretty much now I weigh daily because I can face the variences. Part of the reason people say to weigh less often is because you are most likely to see a change at each weighin that way. I know that sometimes when I see a huge jump it can be discouraging but now I know that I can gain up to 12lbs at TOM and that salty foods or bowel habits can make my weight jump also.

How often someone weighs depends on how they are able to cope with the numbers.

HTH
irisheyes213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 11:17 AM   #3  

Height: 5'8.5"