Old 05-30-2006, 03:05 PM   #1  
I'm a tough old broad!

S/C/G: 286.6/281.4/150

Height: 5'5"

Unhappy New, frustrated, and scared

Hello, all! I'm new to 3fatchicks. I'd heard of the site before and even visited here a few years ago. I can't remember if I checked the message boards then or not. Mainly, I think I read some of the 3fatchicks blogs - the three sisters who started this site, I mean. I was recently at a bookstore and saw their book and it aroused my curiosity.

Here's what's going on with me now. I was diagnosed last August with cancer in both breasts (at what was supposed to be a routine mammogram at my oncologist's insistence - I had lymphoma in '02-'03). I have since had four surgeries - lumpectomies with sentinel node biopsies, bilateral mastectomies with immediate placement of temporary implants, chemo-port installation, and final reconstruction surgery with a hysterectomy at the same time. I also had four rounds of Adriamycin and Cytoxen as chemo. I took tamoxifen for a month before stopping it in preparation for my last surgery. I now have a prescription for Arimidex, and I'm waiting on the results of my DEXA (bone density) scan before filling it. At my last visit with the oncologist, my liver enzymes are elevated. This was last Wednesday. They were able to schedule me in for the DEXA scan and a CT-scan of my liver on Friday afternoon. However, with the weekend and yesterday being a holiday, I haven't heard anything yet about the results. I don't expect my doctor to get the report before tomorrow morning.

So, here I am, weighing about twice what I'd like to weigh. I have cute, perky little reconstructed boobies, but you can't see them for my gut sticking out further than they do. MUCH further. I haven't seen my feet without bending over in I can't remember how long. And now I have health issues that make losing weight a big priority.