Old 01-20-2006, 01:08 AM   #1  
playin' for keeps

Default Why are we so critical of ourselves?

Okay, so I've been losing weight for about 11 months now. I feel sure that this is a lifestyle I can maintain forever. I'm a slow loser - only 45 pounds gone so far, and that's mostly okay.

The thing is, if I let up, even just a teensy bit, I have horrible feelings that I've blown it entirely, and I'll never get back on track. Logically, this makes no sense.

For example, I didn't work out today because I have a terrible cold, and I still went out to dinner with girlfriends and ate 2 pieces of pizza and a small salad. This isn't the best day on record, but why do I feel like it erases 11 months of hard work and success?

I ran a 10K race last weekend, and it's been eons since I missed a day of exercise. I'm eating pretty well. For this, I give myself hardly any credit. On the other hand, one off day, and I have visions of myself turning into Eddie Murphy in the Nutty Professor (remember that scene when he gets fat again and starts bursting out of his clothes?), that's me in my head.

Does anyone else deal with this? Or am I the only whack-o out there?

Thanks in advance for sharing your thoughts!

cheers!
paula
cagirlygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 01:35 AM   #2  
Going to ONEderland

I think it is because we are perfectionists. Perfectionists are not people who do things perfectly. They are people who would rather not do it at all if they can't do it perfectly. This tends to kick us in the butt more often than it really helps.