Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 12-09-2005, 10:12 AM   #1  
LLV

Default These last 10 pounds are stinkers!

Anyone else with only about 10-20 pounds to go and it keeps going up and down on you?

One week I'm 143. Then I dip down to 142. Then I hit 144 or 145.

Arrrrrrrgh!!!!
LLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 10:30 AM   #2  

Once I hit my original goal weight of 135 I realized that would need to lose anywhere between 10-20 more pounds to be happy (I'm going by how I look, not the number on th scale which is why my goal range is so big). I took about a month and a half (maybe it was two) just trying to maintain. I needed time to evaluate my progress and formulate a game plan for these last pounds.

I know they aren't for everyone but this mini break really helped me. First of all, it taught me how to maintain which is something I wasn't at all confident about (I've never done it before!). Secondly, it gave me a mental and emotional break from expecting the scale to move every week. I hadn't realized just how draining that had been. Finally, it gaves me an opportunity to view the weight I have to lose as the FIRST 10 pounds instead of the LAST. That has lessened a lot of my frustrations. I suppose it is having the mentality that this is a new journey rather than the same one I've been trudging on for the past year.

We are all anxious to get to that magical number. But, you are in the home stretch so try to relax just a bit. You WILL get there.
lucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 10:32 AM   #3  
Egy Kis Lany

jawsmom - I'm not to that point yet, but I like the mentality of maintaining a while, and then restarting the loss.
Good luck!

And good luck to you, too, LLV!
PhysDom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 10:40 AM   #4  
aka Superwoman!

S/C/G: SW:226/16st - about 50lbs lost

Height: 5'8"