Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 11-21-2005, 08:21 AM   #1  
repeat offender

S/C/G: 178/167/105

Height: 5' 3"

Question Resistance Tube Advice!

Since I am a novice at weight training, I thought I would ask for some advice first. I travel frequently and it is not always possible to get to a gym. Recently I stumbled across Resistance Tube. Although it sounds like the perfect solution to my problem, but has anyone tried it?
I am worried I might not get the full body workout I need, including lower body, abs and back! Also does it require any other equipment, like a weight bench?

Thanks
Miaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 10:29 AM   #2  

I don't think you can replace weights with bands, but they can certainly supplement your weight training. Power lifters use them to add resistance at the top of the lift, by using the bands plus a relatively lightly loaded bar. Because bands are a kind of spring they are going to offer more resistance the further they are stretched, so if you are using bands alone they won't really train the bottom positions of your lifts.
RobertW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 03:53 PM   #3  
repeat offender

Question

Hi Robert, I am not sure if I understand everything you said. I understand that it's not the same thing as weight, and I won't be able to train the bottom position.
Can you suggust an alternative? Keep in mind that I can't carry all that weights arounds. But I really just need something to help tone my body. Has anyone actually used it and found it sucessfull?

Thanks
Old 11-21-2005, 06:04 PM   #4  

What about waterfilled dumbells? I can see that there is at least one set that goes up to 16#.

I would train bodyweight exercises plus maybe running stairs if i was traveling and the hotel didn't have a gym. I also get a pretty good "farmers walk" workout carrying my bags around the airport.
RobertW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 06:15 PM   #5  
Meg