Old 09-21-2005, 05:40 PM   #1  

Default Hi! I'm new to the forum, though not new to the website.

I am on the South Beach diet, and I have lost five pounds so far, but I have a serious problem with sugar cravings. I thought that after two weeks my urge to eat a donut or candy would go away, but it hasn't. That's what prompted me to get on this forum. I'm a teacher, and as most everyone knows, teachers keep candy in their classrooms. I am so tempted by it , and I have given in once or twice. I know that I need to get the candy out of my room, but I enjoy eating a starburst (although chocolates are my fave) every once in a while.
Also, does anyone else get a major sugar craving after having a beer? I'm not a heavy drinker, but I like to have a beer now and then. When I do, I usually start craving donuts and chips. I miss eating those things, but I want to change.
I am a binge eater. My mom put me on all kinds of diets when I was younger. We didn't keep sweets in the house, but when we did have them, I would eat as much as I possibly could. Now as an adult, I'm still the same way. If there is any kind of junkfood around, I am going to eat it. I can't stop myself and then I feel really guilty and won't tell anyone, not even my best friends. It really sucks to love sugar and carbs so much, and to have them be so destructive on my body. Any comments or advice?
pinkfloydheather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 06:47 PM   #2  

Height: 5'-2"

Heather, welcome!

I am so with you re: sugar/carbs. I just binged on chips and chocolate.
I don't have that problem with beer (thank goodness).
Like you, we didn't have a lot of snacks around when I was growing up, but when I became a teenager, I started buying my own, and eating them secretly in my room.

Do you have much more to lose? Do you do any exercise? Would you like to join in our conversations over here? http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=64
We'd love to have you join in!