Old 08-04-2006, 03:07 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 253/250/130

Height: 5'3

Default Where do I start?????

Hi everyone!!!! I am new here and need to lose 120lbs. I am 31 and have a crazy life. I am a paramedic and I work 72 hrs straight then I get to come home and I am on call for 24 hrs, then I am off for 3 days. I don't have any kids, but I do have a wonderful husband who is also a paramedic and who just so happens to be very muscular and fit, even though he eats junk except when I am home to cook. I guess my main problem is finding some way to make a diet work with my crazy work schedule. I don't have very bad eating habits, I eat a lot of salads which are my favorite food besides seafood, but I do need to be more disciplined with the sodas. Sometimes we miss meals because we are on a call or taking someone to a hospital 150 miles away, so it is hard to stick to a diet plan. I am going to Curves now. First weigh and measure coming up soon. I get my 3 days in on the 3 days I am off in a row. I would really like some advice on an eating plan of some sort. Any and all advice would be very appreciated.
giggles31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:11 AM   #2  

Hi Giggles!

Welcome! You'll love this place. Its so friendly and helpful. Its got me through some tough stages of this long diet journey!

To be honest the best diet/lifestyle to choose is one that suits you. Some people like a lot of structure, in which case one of the commercial diets might be best. Some people feel that they need to completely give up the food that triggers their eating, in which case Atkins or other similar types of diets might be best for you. Some people want a bit of freedom in what they eat but just want to eat less of it! In which case weight watchers or just a calories counting diet would be best.

It depends on who you are. Once you decide then there are different section of this site about each diet.