Pain when walking

• I was just curious if anyone else experienced this... I have been doing the WATP tapes just fine with no pain but last night my husband and I decided to go walk around the track at the Highschool for a change of pace and I barely made it 1/2 mile because the front of my left shin felt like it was going to burn right off... and the pain was so bad I almost couldn't walk to the car. I'm concerned about it and wonder if I should go see the doctor or, is this something that will go away if I keep pushing a little more each time? I don't want to NOT be able to walk around outside when it's nice.
  • I never would want to tell anyone to not go to a doctor, as I am not a doctor. That said, I have had that burning pain in the front of my shins from walking. It's a build up of lactic acid in the muscles -- the muscles aren't toned and the oxygen can't get to the muscles as efficiently. I usually rest once I start to feel it, sit down on a bench, and once it goes away I'm good to go. Once I started walking more regularly I didn't experience it anymore.
    Hope that helps.
  • ooooooooooooh SHIN!! I was all confused there thinking about your left chin!!

Love Amanda x
  • Dragonwoman - Thanks! I think I will try to sit down until it goes away and then walk again... a mile is a mile whether I have to sit a little at the beginning or not.

Amanda - That's funny! I didn't even realize I did that! It's fixed now and I checked it twice it now say shin instead of chin
  • I believe they are called shin splints and I used to get the all the time when first starting out exerscising.
    Here is a link I found that describes them.
    http://www.rice.edu/~jenky/sports/shin.html
  • Ouch! Shin splints are very painful! I find that I get them if I start out walking too fast. If I start slowly and speed up gradually, I'm less likely to get them. There are also exercises to strengthen and/or stretch your shin muscles that may help: