Old 07-07-2012, 01:14 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 363/see ticker/150

Height: 5'5

Default Still rearing from "innocent" remark!

So, I am not new to dieting, I am not new to 3fc, just dropped out for awhile while I was preggo.
So a little background info about me:

I am a nurse. For better or for worse, I am a nurse. I work for a busy local clinic. and the other day, I am told point blank: "You're going to die"

The patient tells me that is what his doctor told him before he lost all his weight. I have to say for a moment, I was speechless, which takes a lot for me. So I just said I appreciate your concern and walked out of the room. I understand that I am a big girl, I understand the health concerns, probably better than most. That is one of the many reasons why I more dedicated than ever to getting this weight off. While I understand, that the patient was probably just trying to help, it's just wildly inapprioate. I've dealt with a lot of touchy subjects in this job, I've always been kind and respectful. In fact, I deal with of our diabetic teaching for new Diabetes patients. I get how daunting it and I work with them. I know it was all meant to be innocent, but it really stung. I'm not sure what else I could have said. I just wanted to share with people that understand.
Mrsralphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 05:54 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 260/ticker/160

Height: 5'6 1/2"

People say the meanest stuff! How rude! And he said it at your job so you had to take it. Stuff like that makes me mad.

Congrats on your weightloss and that beautiful baby!
toobig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 07:06 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 204/114/120

Height: 5'

Congratulations on your loss you have made a great start. That was a cruel remark made by that person, You handled it very well. Some people have no filter and will say anything that pops into their head, no matter how thughtless or mean.
bargoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 02:55 PM   #4  

Height: 5'5"