Hello there - vacation dieting tips

• Hi there,

I am targeting a 140 lb. total weight loss. Once I get to that point, I'll see how I look and feel, and whether I'm healthy (the most important part!), and consider taking off more at that time. This is a great board; I've only posted once in the introductions forum but have been lurking. Now I could use some advice!

I am just finishing my 12th week of my weight loss program. I decided to splurge on a very nice vacation--I'm going to Italy in November. I have never been there. I love the idea of walking around in such a historical location.

The challenge is how to maintain a diet plan when I'm in a country known for its food! This is the land of pizza and pasta, both of which I have been avoiding. And I'll be surrounded by gelato! Furthermore, the breakfasts all seem to be buffet style, and I'm not good at controlling myself with buffets. I worry that I won't find anything I can eat on a continental breakfast bar. Since I'm traveling alone, I'm a bit shy about going to a restaurant by myself where I might be able to get fish or grilled meats, so my options are eating at the hotel (expensive) or picking up take-out stuff (typically not healthy stuff). I won't have access to a refrigerator or cooking facilities so I can't shop for healthy options.

I know that some might say "enjoy yourself and eat what you want - you're on vacation!" but I'm very worried about eating what I want. I struggle with binge eating and am afraid that if I stray from my routine for even a day or two that I will fall off the wagon.

The good news is that I am staying at hotels with fitness centers, and Rome is a city where you end up doing a lot of walking every day. I can do a couple of miles on a treadmill, then walk throughout the day, so I don't think exercise will be a problem.