Eminent help needed! What do you do when your an emotional wreck (other than eat)?

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • I'm pretty new to recommitting myself to getting healthy and have hit a bump in the road.

I just got home from the grocery store. I ran into my 9 year old son that is the light of my life that I recently lost custody of after a 3 year court case. He was with his step mom. OUCH! The court case was very ugly and emotionally wrenching for all involved. Vicious vicious uglies were exchanged every couple of months in court documents and in person until the final court date in Sept where I lost custody. I can safely say, my ex/his new wife and I are lifelong enemies.

When we were at the store, my son didn't come over to me nor did I approach them. He made eye contact, waved and smiled weakly. I felt like I was kicked in the gut. I literally was so startled by the unexpected encounter that I became nauseous and light headed. I immediately ended the shopping trip and headed for the check out counter. It's a small store any they ended up checking out at the same time.

Have you ever unexpectedly seen someone you love in public with someone else after a break up? That is the closest I can compare the feeling to.

I wanted to go straight the Teriyaki place next door and get something very unhealthy for myself but didn't as I was in a bigger hurry to get the **** out of the parking lot.

Ugh. My old habit is to eat like crazy at times like these but I know that hasn't ever helped. I called a friend but the call went to voicemail so I am hear hoping to get a kind word and some wisdom to keep me out of the fridge/drive through/chip bag/liquor store....etc.
  • I come here and read the success stories and look at the pics. I am sorry about your situation and you are in my prayers