Old 03-14-2008, 07:37 AM   #1  
Made of Starstuff

Question Body Fat Percentage Monitors - What would you recommend?

Hi everyone!

Do you have a Body Fat Monitor? Do you have one you recommend? (Scale included or not, doesn't matter to me.)

I'm becoming more concerned with making sure that the weight I'm taking off is more fat than it is muscle etc. And I believe owning a reliable body fat monitor would help me to achieve this. I certainly don't want to get down to a healthier weight only to be told that I still have 30%+ body fat or something. I know many other people are concerned about the same thing, and I certainly trust peoples' opinions about equipment on 3FC. Just looking for a few that I should check out more seriously.

Thanks!
Lovely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 08:12 AM   #2  
In Onderland!!!!

S/C/G: 227/227/140

Height: 5'4

I look forward to what responses you get from this post. I have never used one of those before. I didn't even know that was really a concern
wendymeows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 08:39 AM   #3  
Yogasaurus

S/C/G: 180/120/115

Height: 5' 5"

Default Tanita Scale

I have a Tanita digital scale that measures weight in increments of 0.2 pounds, and percent body fat in increments of 0.2 percent. I have been using it for about three years, so newer models may have different capabilities. I have to admit that I have never had my body fat analysed in any other way, so my ability to compare is limited! Measurement of my percent body fat DOES change with the water content of my body (TOM is a horror!), but for me usually falls within a 2% range on this scale. Not perfect, but it gives me general trends over the course of the month. I range from about 20.6-22.6%, and I find that if my weight is a bit higher that day (I fluctuate about 2-3 pounds routinely), that the percent body fat will read as on the low end. Not perfect, but it helps keep me in line!
Circebee is offline   Reply With Quote