Old 08-31-2007, 02:06 AM   #1  
Bikini Season :)

Default For Those Of Us That Work On Our Feet!

So, as my name states, I'm a nurse. I'm on my feet CONSTANTLY.
i come home from work with an achy back and legs. frequently go so far as to break a sweat and if lifting people all day counts - i'm lifting weights!

do you count your days at work a work out, or am i just copping out??

if i am working a 12, usually closer to 13 hour shift and i'm on my feet, running around from here to there - i never go to the gym! i count it as my work out... is that right? does anyone else do that?
KateRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 03:10 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 207/200/135

Height: 5'8

your body has a resting rate of how many calories it burns. If you were to lie in bed all day and do absolutely nothing, you would burn x amount of calories depending all on your height, weight, age, and gender. I'm a 19 year old, 5'7 female weighing in at 180lbs, and I have a resting burn rate of 1660 calories a day.

Everything else you do is technically exercise. And because you have such a highly demanding job, I'd say it REALLY counts!

Casandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 08:27 AM   #3  
Leaning out of Lurkdom ;)

Height: 5' 7"

I'm afraid it doesnt work like that. We all have a "Set Point" things we do or a lifestyle we lead. What we do daily or normally is Our Set Point.

Your nursing is case point, my waitressing. We both are on our feet running around for hours. Where as you lift people, I lift heavy laden trays, and boxes of varying sizes and weights putting things away or in storage. This kind of work our bodies are used to. It's our set point, its keeping us where we're at. We have to do more.