3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   100 lb. Club (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/100-lb-club-55/)
-   -   100 Pounds! How did it happen? (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/100-lb-club/104430-100-pounds-how-did-happen.html)

Stampah 02-11-2007 01:02 PM

100 Pounds! How did it happen?

Hello to everyone! this is my first post. I'm just beginning the long journey to my goal weight. I'm so hoping to reach it by Christmas. Right now things are going pretty well. I attend T.O.P.S. meetings weekly. I'm finding the support really helpful. I can't believe I have to lose 100 pounds...how the heck did I let this happen?:o

jennylou 02-11-2007 01:21 PM

It happened over time.

You can do this, but try not to think in terms of 100 pounds. That seems so daunting. Look at it, instead as shorter term goals. Something by Easter, something by the 4th, etc, etc. Make your goal to be something that is reasonable - 2 pounds per week. You can do it. :)

LisaMarie71 02-11-2007 01:26 PM

Jennylou is right -- you definitely have to look at it in smaller chunks instead of thinking of the whole 100 pounds. For years I was so intimidated by the number of pounds I needed to lose that I just didn't even make a serious attempt. This time I split the 110 pounds into 4 mini-goals, and I also looked at it as 10 pounds at a time. I made little goals of getting into the next "decade" so I was excited when I reached the 260s, then the 250s, the 240s, and so on. Now, 70 pounds later, I can say I only have to lose 40 pounds. That may sound like a lot to some people, but to me it sounds really doable, and you'll be in the same place before you know it. The time is going to pass, one way or another, so you might as well get this weight loss going! 10 pounds at a time -- you can do it!

aliya27 02-11-2007 01:27 PM

I feel your pain!