Pronounced ray-key

Also known as Usui Reiki Ryoho

Reiki is a spiritual practice developed in 1922 by Dr. Mikao Usui. Reiki means Universal Life Energy. Life force energy resides in everything you see around you, yourself included. All animals, plants and humans have life force energy. Reiki, the energy healing system, is based on the belief that thoughts have the power to direct energy.

Reiki teachings claim that there is an inexhaustible, universal “life force” spiritual energy that can be used to induce a healing effect. Anyone can gain access to this energy by means of an attunement process carried out by a Reiki Master. There are three levels of Reiki, with the third being Reiki Master.

Reiki is described as a holistic therapy which brings about healing on physical, mental, emotional and spiritual levels. The belief is that the energy will flow through the practitioner’s hands whenever the hands are placed on, or held near a potential recipient. Some teachings stress the importance of the practitioner’s intention or presence in this process, while others claim that the energy is drawn by the recipient’s injury to activate or enhance the natural healing processes.

The Reiki practitioner is a channel for energy. Reiki is a natural method of energy balancing for the purpose of stress reduction and relaxation. It can involve “the laying of hands” although it is not required for Reiki to be effective.

While Reiki is spiritual in nature, it is not a religion. It has no dogma, and there is nothing you must believe in order to learn and use Reiki. In fact, Reiki is not dependent on belief at all and will work whether you believe in it or not. Because Reiki comes from God, many people find that using Reiki puts them more in touch with the experience of their religion rather than having only an intellectual concept of it. While Reiki is not a religion, it is still important to live and act in a way that promotes harmony with others. Dr. Mikao Usui, the founder of the Reiki system of natural healing, recommended that one practice certain simple ethical ideals to promote peace and harmony, which are nearly universal across all cultures.

The 5 Principles of Reiki: It is said that Reiki practitioners should do self-treatments and follow these principles daily.

1. Just for today, I will count my many blessings.

2. Just for today, I will not worry.

3. Just for today, I will not be angry.

4. Just for today, I will do my work honestly.

5. Just for today, I will be kind to every living creature.

The Degrees of Reiki

In order to practice Reiki, a person must be attuned. An attunement adjusts the vibrations of one’s energy field’s and attunes them to be able to receive types of energy they couldn’t formerly. During the attunement process, a series of energies represented by symbols are sealed into the person’s energy field. They are given a guide or communication route to assist them in maximizing the flow and beneficial effects of the energy.

1st Degree – The first degree Reiki course teaches the basic theories and procedures. Four “attunements” are given to the student by the teacher. Students learn hand placement positions on the recipient’s body that are thought to be most conducive to the process in a whole body treatment. Having completed the first degree course, the participant can treat himself and others with Reiki.

2nd Degree – In the second degree Reiki course, the student learns the use of three symbols which are said to enhance the strength and distance over which the effect can be exerted. Another attunement is given, which is said to further increase the capacity for Reiki to flow through the student, as well as empowering the use of the symbols. Having completed the second level, the student can work without being physically present with the recipient. The three symbols taught in level 2 are as follows: Cho Ku Rei, a symbol used to increase the power of the healing; Sei He Ki, a symbol generally used for emotional healing; and Hon Sha Ze Sho Nen, a symbol used for distance healing.

3rd Degree – Through the third degree, or “master training”, the student becomes a Reiki Master. (In Reiki terminology, the word “master” does not imply spiritual enlightenment). One or more attunements are carried out and the student learns a further master-level symbol. Having completed the master training, the new Reiki Master can attune other people to Reiki and teach the three degrees of Reiki.

A Reiki Session – This varies a lot, but I suggest having a session done!

1. Practitioner will wash their hands in cold water.

2. The client lays on a table and is comfortable. Blankets are okay, whatever is comfy!

3. The Practitioner will say a Prayer of Intention.

4. The Practitioner will use their hands and focus on different parts of the body. There are times that hands will touch, but they don’t have to. During this time, the practitioners’ hands sometimes get very hot. The client experiences warmth, “waves” or other unique feelings.

5. At the end of the session, the practitioner will smooth out the clients energy field and then “seal” it.

6. The practitioner will allow the client to remain comfortable, but inform that the session is complete. The client can talk, lay still or any other simple requests.

7. The practitioner will discuss the session with the client.

8. The practitioner will wash their hands in cold water.

Leave a Reply