If you suffer from celiac disease, which interferes with the absorption of nutrients from food, you may need to consider a gluten free diet for weight loss and to improve your overall health. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley, but can also be found in a variety of everyday products like medicines, vitamins, and lip balms. For people with celiac disease, it is imperative that they avoid gluten in their diet. Here are some foods that are considered safe for people on a gluten free diet:
Grains & Breads
The following are all substitutions that can be made for wheat flour:
- bean flour
Many stores carry gluten-free bread, pasta, and other products for people suffering from this disease. The best source would be a store that carries organic foods, but many of these gluten-free foods are becoming available at mainstream grocery stores. Rice is also considered safe to eat.
Any plain meats and fish are fine to eat, as they do not contain any gluten.
Vegetables & Fruits
No gluten is contained in any fruits or vegetables, and they can be freely eaten.
Eating out with celiac disease can be difficult, and when in doubt, you should ask the waiter for specific ingredients. Also check with your pharmacist regarding gluten in your medications, as it is often used as an additive.
With a little knowledge and careful consideration, you can still enjoy a healthy variety of foods on your gluten-free diet and feel great.