Whole Foods Lifestyle For discussion of whole foods and more natural diets.

Old 06-02-2010, 01:48 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 126/124/115

Height: 5'0"

Default rice??

HI! I am new to whole foods. I am really confused about rice.
what is ok to eat very often with the whole foods lifestyle? brown, white, wild?
we eat jasmine rice right now.

TIA!
Mom2lucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 02:14 PM   #2  

S/C/G: SW:394/310/180

Height: 5'6"

Some people consider polished rice (also called white rice, but white rice isn't always white - it just means the bran layer has been removed) a whole food, others do not (because it's processed in the sense of having the bran layer removed).

Just as white rices aren't always white, brown rices aren't always brown. Brown rice just means that the bran layer has not been removed (which does make it a more whole food).

Any variety of rice can be white or brown (polished or unpolished). The most whole version will always be the unpolished variety. If the rice is stark white, it is never a whole grain becaue the bran layer has been removed (if there's a variety of rice that has a white bran layer, I don't know about it. It could be possible, I suppose but I've never run across a rice with a white bran layer).

Jasmine is a variety of rice - and can come in either white or brown (polished or unpolished). Whole, unpolished jasmine rice, I believe is a light tan or beige - if it's true white, it's a polished rice.

Unpolished rices do tend to have a darker color than their polished varieties- and usually are tan to brown (but can be purple, red, black...)