Old 11-13-2012, 12:48 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 204/199/165

Height: 5'11

Default Holidays?

Hi everyone! I am pretty new to WW. Yesterday marked 4 weeks of being on the online plan and I've lost 9 pounds so far! This is pretty amazing as I haven't really been able to work out. I'm a waitress, so I do get some exercise while working, but being a full time grad student with an internship, 3 classes, and a job makes a little difficult to find the time to actually go to the gym. Anyway, my questions is about the holidays. Thanksgiving and Christmas are right around the corner. I was wondering if anyone has ideas for how to stay on track during the food lovers holidays. It's tough when you are the only one out of 15 Thanksgiving guests who is trying to watch your weight.
Zeplove25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:59 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 261/158/below 160

Height: 5'8" (Dang, I shrank an inch!)

Some "tricks" are to eat something before you go so you won't be ravenous, load up on veggies (not the green bean casserole kind, however) and turkey, eat a sliver of dessert or protest that you're too full (or allergic), drink lots of water, avoid alcohol or do a wine spritzer kind of thing, offer to bring things that you want to eat (e.g., roasted veggies), and remember that there will be other holidays in your life so once you're on maintenance, you can enjoy a bit more of the things you like to eat at the holidays. Don't let other people sabotage your efforts.

The first holidays I experienced when I was losing weight actually were easier because I was motivated. Make a plan and stick to it. Nothing tastes as good as being thin feels.
Sheila53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:59 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 190/182/150

Height: 5'7"

Zeplove -