Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 08-09-2005, 03:51 PM   #1  

Question How Often Do You Squat?

Once a week, every other day, every 4 days? Honestly, my "squatting muscles" are in terrible shape -- and I can't seem to get much improvement. Should I squat light and squat often? Less reps/more weight?

My lunges are not so great, either!

Luanne
mscelica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 09:09 PM   #2  
Mel

I do legs "heavy" once a week. Squats, lunges, hack squats, dumbbell squats...every variation you can think of. But because I'm a trainer, I realized I probably do about 50 unweighted squats per day also, between demo'ing, lugging weights around, and doing squats without realizing it while I spot clients doing chest presses I don't advocate doing legs daily!

If you are lifting to your perceived level of muscle failure or total fatigue, you should have a minimum of 4 days recover time for large muscle groups. Make sure you also work your hamstrings and don't just concentrate on your quads. If you are doing a full body or circuit type workout with only 2 sets per body part, you can probably do it every other day, depending on your age and fitness level.

Mel
Mel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 10:57 PM   #3  

Okay...newbie here... jumping in...

I do two sets/10 reps of dumbbell squats as part of my full-body workout, which I do three days a week.

When I first start doing them, I had a hard time. I really had to pay attention to my form, or my back would hurt from doing them. For 2-3 weeks, I didn't use any weight.... just concentrated on getting the form right and getting used to the movement. Now, they're one of my fav exercises as I can always feel the burn and I think they've contributed alot to my leg strength. And it's one exercise that I need to up the weight on my dumbbells!