Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 09-24-2012, 09:12 PM   #1  
Hi, I'm Lauren! :)

S/C/G: SW:209 / CW:184/ GW:~160

Height: 5'4

Default How much am I really lifting?

These are the weight bars at my gym, and they're the ones I've been using since I transitioned over to the free-weight section of the gym. I started with the smallest one on the top, which is marked 20lbs, and am now using the second one from the bottom, which is marked 30lbs. My question is, is that 20-30lbs PLUS the bar, or is that how much the bar + the weights is? Cause if it's the former, that means if, say, the bar itself weighs 45lbs, then I started lifting at 65lbs and am now at 75lbs, which makes me feel pretty good! Otherwise, I definitely have a long way to go, lol.

Your help is appreciated!
mimsyborogoves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 10:15 PM   #2  
On the slow track.

S/C/G: 210/ticker/160

Height: 5'9

Usually with those preloaded barbells, the marked weight is the actual weight--it includes the weight of the bar.

If you go over to an oly bar and load it up with plates, then you would add 45lb for the weight of the oly bar to the combined weight of the plates.
DietVet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 10:16 PM   #3  
Optimistic cynic

S/C/G: 220/209/180

Height: 5'3"

I'm pretty sure the weight of the bar is included. Still, 30 pounds is pretty good and you've obviously gotten a lot stronger - so good job!
Steph7409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 12:18 AM   #4  

Height: 5'5"

I am curious as to what type of lifts you are doing. 30 pounds is a lot harder when you are lifting it over your head versus a deadlift or squat. Not looking for an answer. Just sort of giving the random, unsolicited advice to consider finding a program that has you doing a variety of full-body lifts. Or maybe that's later on the agenda?