Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 06-26-2012, 12:33 PM   #1  
On my way

S/C/G: 262/210/159

Height: 5'2"

Thumbs up Please help me understand my stats...

Ok, so after many years (ok about 4, but I've been generally active my whole life) of doing some moderate weight lifting, and lots or cardio, and eating healthy...(not to mention having been over weight my entire life). I had a session with a personal trainer today at my very fancy new gym. He measured my body fat % with the electronic impulse thing (which I assume is decently accurate) I am at 42% body fat, and I weigh 215 pounds. According to his and my calculations I have 124 pounds of lean mass, which seems pretty high but makes sense with my body having developed with so much excess weight to carry, and because I have been working out hard and all sorts of ways for the past 4 years. Ideally I would want to be 24% body fat (although I don't know what that looks like on me, I want to look fit, but not lean or gamey)...so that means I have to lose about half of my current body fat (which in total seems to be about 90 pounds) that leaves me (to be safe) losing 50 pounds total at around 165. I suppose that's heavy for 5'2" (more than 20 pounds heavier than I intended to be) but I really do not want to lose my lean mass. The trainer says that's a good place to be, and he swears that he could help me lose that fat while maintaining almost all my lean mass...Idk if he just wants to make money. Anyway, does that make sense to you guys? Can anyone help me validate that? Thanks
mescelestus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 03:36 PM   #2  
Just watch me ...

Anyone can make promises (I can't validate the math). Some things to consider:

1. What is his training? Qualifications?

2. How does he propose to get you to 'goal'? clean diet? supplements? gimmics?

3. How often does he intend to meet with you?