3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Weight and Resistance Training (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-resistance-training-80/)
-   -   Is my heart rate dangerous?? (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-resistance-training/249335-my-heart-rate-dangerous.html)

oxymoronica 12-30-2011 01:30 PM

Is my heart rate dangerous??

I got a brand new 25 pound kettlebell for Christmas, and so far I love the thing.

I bop along happily to my kettlebell workouts and am drenched in sweat after five minutes. Since I'm a beginner, I usually break my long (and I love how I think 20 minutes is "long") workout into two ten minute sessions because it is so intense.

I would think it's the greatest thing ever, but for one thing. I also got a new heart rate monitor for Christmas. When I do my kettlebell workouts, my heart rate gets up to an average of 175-180 beats per minute for the whole workout, and peaks between 191 and 197. I'm 22, so my theoretical max (220 minus my age) should be around 198. Am I two beats per minute away from a heart attack?? Lol, I ask that mostly as a joke, but I really am starting to get concerned I might be damaging my heart or exercising in a dangerous zone.

Before getting the kettlebell or the heart rate monitor, I used to do HIIT interval sprints. As a means of comparison, I wore my monitor on a sprint workout yesterday to see if maybe it was just the kettlebell pushing me to such high limits. My average for 20 minutes of interval sprints (a pretty typical workout for me) was 170ish and my peak was 191. A little lower, but almost the same. Which means I have been exercising at this intensity for months and never even realizing it.