Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 06-01-2011, 03:03 PM   #1  
New Beacher!

S/C/G: 174/154/125

Height: 5' 4"

Default Motivation: Who needs it?

So, I belong to the Stumptuous group on Facebook.. run by Mistress Krista herself.

Since motivation for working out is something I have been struggling with for YEARS, I asked the question:

Quote:
How do you all stay motivated to train? I seem to have a bad habit of making training my lowest priority. Or I keep thinking "I'll train more when I have this extra special shiny piece of equipment". All advice welcome (and I'm an uber newbie to lifting.. as in I have some kettlebells at home and that's it)
And this is what Krista said:

Quote:
Forget "motivation". Motivation is great for the first 2 minutes. The only things that work are systems, schedules, and strategies. You have to explicitly and consciously prioritize regular movement, then build movement into the structure of your day, just like any other commitment. And ask yourself two crazy questions: "What do I feel I have to 'give up' or lose by avoiding regularly scheduled movement? How am I actually benefiting by NOT exercising regularly?" You may be committed to something else, like "being busy", without even realizing it -- and THIS competing value is what stands in your way, not "motivation".
I thought this was incredibly wise.. so I wanted to share it here.
KicknKnit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 10:11 PM   #2  
Made of Starstuff

Amen!

Who needs motivation when it's never there for you when you need it?

Commitment is the way to go.
Lovely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 07:13 AM   #3  
Kallos Sthenos

S/C/G: 188/127/120

Height: 5'3''