Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 02-12-2008, 07:35 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 61.5/61.5/53 kg=136/136/117lb

Height: 1.63m (5'4")

Default Beginner doubts/insecurities?

Hi everyone.
I'm new to all of this, and trying to learn as much as possible.

I got a book this Sat (a bday present from friends) about strength training (without weights - I'd asked for a book about strength training, with lifting on my mind, so I was kind of disappointed when I saw there were no weights in this book! But now that I've started reading it I do like it, it seems to be good for the basics) and I was excited to try some of the exercises... until I realized how weak I am. Two "girl push-ups" (with the knees) and my arms feel shaky and weak for the rest of the day!

So my question is: is there hope for me?
Seriously now - how soon do you think I'll start seeing (well, feeling) results if I work on these exercises (strength training without weights, just against my own body weight, like crunches, push-ups, squats, etc.) about 2 - 3 times (I'm being realistic ) a week?

And - would you recommend me to exercise using weights (machines or free weights) even before I start getting a bit better at these "simpler" ones? Or do you think it would be better to wait until I gain strength without the weights before I start lifting?

Thanks in advance!
I'm loving everything I'm learning about lifting, but I feel - weak! And somehow I'm having a hard time imagining myself being stronger than I am now.

Oh, and a bonus, kind of off topic (for this thread, not the forum) question: I think my shoulders are too broad as they are, will muscle training make them broader?
lalala123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 07:59 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 270/157/160

Quote:
Originally Posted by lalala123 View Post
Hi everyone.
Nope. You're one of us now!

Quote: