Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 08-22-2007, 09:56 AM   #1  
!No CoMpRoMiSe!

S/C/G: 162/152/135

Height: 5'5"

Default I have a job interview @ the gym: any personal trainers here?

I have a job interview tomorrow morning at the gym I go to. My job will be to sign up new customers, give the member any help they need, and things like that. (I have some experience in this already )I'm excited about this because it's my desire to be a personal trainer. I would love to have a job that I can be passionate about. I want to work primarily with women. I can totally relate with how hard it is to get in shape, while overcoming daily obsticals life brings.

I looked into Personal raining certifications on line. Does anyone know which are reputable and which are just scams?

After archiving this certificate, I want to go on and pursue a certification in nutrition as well.

Any thought or advice?

Last edited by wannaBsize7; 08-22-2007 at 10:19 AM.
wannaBsize7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 11:07 AM   #2  
Meg

Hi Wanna! I'm a NASM (National Academy of Sports Medicine) certified personal trainer and Mel is certified by ISSA and perhaps another organization. We have some other trainers floating around too.

There are probably five or so well-recognized certifications that most gyms will accept: ACE, NASM, ACSM, NSCA, and ISSA (I'm probably leaving one out!) When I was deciding which course to take, I talked to various trainers about what was best and decided to go with NASM.

Your best bet is to talk to the head trainer at the gym where you're going to work and see which ones are first, accepted and second, which are highly regarded.

At my gym, we had several people who started at the front desk, got certified, and moved onto personal training. So your plan makes lots of sense. You'll be able to interact with the trainers, watch them in action, and probably work out with them.

Good luck to you!