Weight Loss Surgery If you've had it, or are considering it, share your discussions here

Old 09-20-2016, 02:55 PM   #1  

Smile Roux-en-Y Gastric bypass or BPD/DS?

Hi everyone,
I am new to this part of the board, but I've been morbidly obese and a member of the forums for ages. I finally am in a place in my life where I have insurance that covers the surgery and since I have two daughters under 12 and diabetes and hypertension I have decided to have WLS to help me get healthier and be here for my daughters as they grow up.

I have been to the information session and have been reading about the different surgeries in peer reviewed medical journals and have narrowed my decision down to either a Laproscopic Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass or a Laproscopic BPD with Duodenal Switch. My insurance will cover both and the surgeon does both.

After reading studies on them, I am leaning toward the BPD/DS option since I am diabetic; however, it is newer, so long term results are not as documented as the gastric bypass which has been around for decades.

Does anyone have experience with either surgery that can tell me what to expect?

I am meeting with the surgeon soon to go over the options available and want to be informed when I discuss them with him. I am doing my own research, but would love some first hand experience advice to go along with what I have been reading.

I've copied down the list of what to ask from this forum and the surgeon did answer many of those questions on risks and his own record with the surgeries during the information session.

I am more wondering how quality of life changes after surgery?