Weight Loss Surgery If you've had it, or are considering it, share your discussions here

Old 12-19-2014, 05:30 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 412/TICKER/175

Height: 5'5

Default 18 days

Hello all. I haven't been on the forums in about 3.5 months, because there was a snag with my surgery date, and I've spent those last 3 months feeling awful, and battling my depression the worst it's ever been.

I was scheduled for surgery September 15th, 2014. September 12th, I was told I needed another pulmonology clearance, because I had been battling pneumonia for 4+ months, and they needed to make sure I could handle the anesthesia.

Long story short, my pulmonologist couldn't clear me, as my lung function was at 30%. Also found out that day that my previous doctors had been mis-diagnosing me for months. I likely NEVER had pneumonia. What a urine screen did show was that I had histoplasmosis (a fungal infection in my lungs). My surgery was immediately cancelled, and I was put on pills to clear up the infection, and told I had to come back in 3 months for a check up, and to check my lung function.

Due to the amount of scar tissue in my lungs, from being mis-diagnosed for months, and the infection taking a toll on my lungs, I can hardly do any walking/activity, without getting seriously winded. Even as a 400 lb woman, I've always been able to jog, walk, do the elliptical for an hour, etc.

I spent the next 3 months basically just in pain and crying over the fact that I didn't' have my surgery, even though I knew it was for the best, because it would have been risky to put me under with lung function being as low as it was. I disappeared from these forums, the obesityhelp forums, and just stopped talking about WLS, because I was in such a bad place.