3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Weight Loss Surgery (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-loss-surgery-78/)
-   -   Intro to a Sleeve Life (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-loss-surgery/278662-intro-sleeve-life.html)

Joliebug82 03-29-2013 10:21 AM

Intro to a Sleeve Life

Good morning, everyone! I can't tell you how excited I am to have found this group! I would love to join ya'll, if youll have me! This is day 4 post-op (vertical sleeve gastrectomy), and I truly feel fantastic! The hospital was hard because of nausea, but that has passed and I am focusing on getting my protein and water in.

About me:
I am a single (but engaged) mom to three perfectly healthy, happy kids. My twins are three and my big boy is 8. They have been great about taking care of Mommy. :)

I am an English teacher in the middle grades, and though it is a difficult and stressful, I love it every day.

I have struggled with weight since high school, and considered surgery a few times, but always thought I could lose the weight without such an irreversible measure. I tried Nutrisystem, Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Ideal Protein, pills, and the "simple" eat less-move more plan. The only one I had any success on was Ideal Protein, when I lost 50 pounds. It has all come back, though, and when my OBGYN recommended surgery, and there just happened to be a seminar right after my appointment ended, and the host was the doctor I had considered before, and he could schedule me on the first day of Easter break so I wouldn't miss school...all that added up and I knew this was the time for me.

I feel so very blessed to have a chance to undo all my bad habits, and though I know it will be a lot of work, I know my life is going where I want it. :carrot:

betsy2013 03-29-2013 10:44 AM