Medications

• Hi Y'all,
    I'm here in Fort Worth, 7 plus inches of snow and still falling. Has everything gone crazy? I thought I'd never see this much snow again after leaving Indy 10 years ago. I'm scheduled for RNY on 3/1. I start a 2-week liquid pre-op on Sunday. I've been having a "last supper" all week. Is there a comprehensive list of medications that I won't be allowed to take after the surgery? I've seen Celebrex and aspirin as no-no's. Is there a special reason? What do people do to substitute?

Thanks,
    Kim
  • main reason it bad and can react badly with the anesthesia. i know tylenol is a good alternative to the asprin and always check with your doctor i'm not a doctor so but it what it what i took when i need an alto to my excerdrine(sp?) sucks for the snow my girllfirnd in new jersery and she call me fussing about it too.

nikki
  • The countdown begins!!!! about the celebrex and aspirin - because you're having stomach surgery, these drugs can wreck your stomach [they're related to ulcers in large doses] AND they can keep your blood from clotting. docs generallly want to be careful around this time.

so, ask your doc about his/her particular policies - most will recommend tylenol for aches and pains, but that's a call for your doc to make. Also, in case you're taking anything else that's interesting, your doc needs to give you the lowdown.
  • No ibuprofen either because NSAID's are bad on the stomach. A lot of it has to do with you not having stomach acid in your pouch and therefore these medicines can sit on the lining of your pouch and basically cause ulcers. Tylenol is okay to take and that's basically what I take in place of the NSAID's.