Do you feel like dieting even after the WLS?

• Hi Girls , Im lucky to say that i lost around 100pounds (46kgs) during the first 1.5 year after the wls , I've been keeping the same weight for the last 2 years... witha +/- of 3kgs.

But is not easy, im always on a diet.. always worried with gaining weight back, like my dad did , he got all the weight back again.

So my question is that you also feel like a slave of diet always? no matter how much u have lost is a non ending care??

I feel very bad because i spend most of the time of my life fearing to get obese again

*p.s: Sorry for my english, im not a native speaker
  • izzy, your'e English is just fine. Congratulations on your weight loss; I haven't had WLS. But I still think about dieting and what I can do to maintain my loss. I think for those of us who tend to be overweight, we must always remember how easy it is to put on the pounds and do not want to forget the work we put in to take it off.
  • your English is fine.

I have not had surgery yet but it does not replace the need to be vigilant about our food and exercise.

it's a tool, nothing more nothing less. and being aware of what you eat and how you move is going to be part of your life for the rest of your life if you want to maintain good health.
  • izzy - let's be honest. do you know ANYONE over the age of, oh, let's say 21, who DOESN'T watch what they eat? I've taken the attitude that no matter what - 'naturally' thin, WLS-weight, old-fashioned diet - i'd have to watch what i eat. it's just that i have better odds that it'll work now.

there's a saying in the MAINTAINERS forum around here - MAINTENANCE LOOKS LIKE THE DIET - in otherwords - ya can't keep the weight off unless you do what got you that success in the first place.
  • It is not a diet. It is healthy eating. It is a lifestyle change. If you are eating the right things, it shouldn't be quite so hard. Junk and sweets are no longer an option.