Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 01-08-2006, 12:23 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 305/305/120

Default Allowing Yourself a Treat?

Ok, so I'm sitting here wondering how everyone allows themselves the occasional treat. I've been having a particular food on my mind since the first day I started my changes. I've thought about and thought about it. I'm just so unsure as to how I allow myself to have something without feeling so guilty. I've been dieting since I was 12 years old. The longest diet I was on, I went from ~260 to 225. I was so proud of myself. However, I was in the mind frame of I can never again have something that I really enjoy, so I ate something that I considered bad at the time and gave up. I'm trying to work out of that destructive thinking because in reality, I know a slip up will occur and I don't want to beat myself up over it. However, I would much rather it be something planned for the day rather than the slip up. How do you guys allow yourselves something that you really want. I was thinking of allowing myself something that I really want at least once a week. That way, it's planned and I'm more capable of holding off 7 days for something that I want. Sorry guys, I'm learning to make positive changes and just needed to vent.
FreshStart06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 01:33 AM   #2  

I think that you should definitely allow yourself something that you really want, but do it in a smaller portion. And don't beat yourself up over it! Once it's done, it's done. Don't obsess about it. Perhaps you could exchange a small portion of what you're craving for part of what you'd normally eat for lunch. That way you wouldn't pile on the calories and get your fix. I would also look for a healthier version of the food that you're craving.