newbie -- feel so defeated

• Hi. I'm a newbie here but I'm not a newbie to losing weight.

I lost 50 pounds on WW and made it to goal. Now a year later I've gained back 20 pounds, gained high cholesterol, and became a couch potato champion. I'm going back to the meetings but somehow I just don't care anymore. : I guess I thought I had suddenly become a naturally thin person. I'll NEVER be a naturally thin person. My doc gave me 6 months to change my lifestyle and if I'm not successful, I'll have to go on cholesterol lowering drugs. I should be motivated to keep off the meds, but I'm not. I take 7 other prescriptions so adding one more isn't an inconvenience. I've had some side effects before so I'm not at all worried about that. The expence is immaterial because the other meds max out my deductible and out-of-pocket anyway, so a new med is effectively "free" for me. It's not that I don't want to change. I just feel so defeated that it feels like I can't.

I don't quite know which thread or board to join here. Maybe the WW boards or the jaded ladies? Any suggestions on where? Any suggestions on where to find some sort of motivation?

Thanks in advance.
    Linda and the zoo.
  • Hi Linda! Welcome to 3FC! about being a naturally thin person ... I had that fantasy too! Then I hit goal and realized that I'm still exactly the same person inside that I always was - you know, the one who loves chocolate chip cookies, preferably by the dozen. I came to realize that I'm going to have to actively manage my weight for the rest of my life - there's no 'cure', unfortunately.