Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 03-08-2005, 12:54 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 195/172/135

Height: 5'4"

Default Getting back to counting calories

Although I don't have much of a history, I've been researching nutrition and mostly on a diet for two years now. Starting this two years ago even helped me to realize I wasn't happy with what I was studying in school, and switched over to studying food science!

Anyway, I tend to have a problem getting myself counting calories again. I lost 40 lbs before by counting calories, so I have no problem doing that and losing weight. My problem is that when I stop for a period of time (was just on vacation), I have trouble getting back to it. Voices in my head say... "Kathleen, you know what's healthy and you're eating what's healthy, why do you need to count calories?" but I'm afraid that part of me just wants to get rid of restrictions.

I don't eat junk food, don't drink soda, eat lots of veggies, everything like that. I have a good handle on portion control. I know where my trouble spots are. But I know that my weight loss is more consistent when I'm counting calories than when I'm not. It's even easy for me during the week, when I'm not with my fiance. So why do I argue with myself over whether I count calories? I'm not having trouble returning to healthier eating...just counting it.
Forever42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2005, 01:04 PM   #2  
Eating for two!

S/C/G: 324 highest known/on hold/150

Height: 5' 5"

Kathleen,