3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Weight Loss Support (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-loss-support-13/)
-   -   NEWBIE - Encouragement needed! (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/weight-loss-support/48699-newbie-encouragement-needed.html)

mighty_ru 11-01-2004 11:10 AM

NEWBIE - Encouragement needed!

Hi, all -

First, let me say what a great resource this site is. It is giving me a lot of encouragement to get on the ball and make the changes that I need to make.

Today is my first day posting. I am a 33 year old teacher with over 100 pounds to lose -not sure how much as I haven't stepped on a scale in several months, and last I checked I was 289 pounds.

I'm seeing a lot of changes in my body that are scaring me. My knees hurt. I have to physically pull myself onto the public bus rather than simply stepping up. I can't fit into an airplane seat like I used to. I get tired easier. I used to love bike riding, walking, and weightlifting, but now I find myself going home after work and finding activities that are physically undemanding (talking on the phone, coffee with friends, etc).

Worst of all, I find myself dreading public events, and I used to be a social butterfly. My brother is getting married in three weeks and I don't want to go. I just lied to an ex-boyfriend to get out of a visit so he won't see how much I've gained in the past few years.

I'm starting to see how my weight will keep me from doing the things that I want to do in my life. All I want to do is travel, and I have already been to some amazing places. However, I don't see how I can go horseback riding on a Costa Rican beach if I can barely pull myself onto a bus, much less a horse! The last time I went to France (three years ago) I noticed that I couldn't fit into the outdoor cafe seats comfortably. Instead of doing something about it, my solution was just not to go back to France!