Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Closed Thread

Old 08-16-2003, 08:43 PM   #1  
Mommy, wife, teacher

Default Teachers struggling to lose weight

I am a 38 year old teacher, mother, and wife. I enjoyed my summer off from school, but gained back the 12 lbs. I had lost in the spring. I look forward to getting back on a schedule, hoping that the structure will help me avoid overeating. At the same time, I worry that the hectic schedule of a teacher won't leave me enough time to take care of myself...not like I have a choice because school begins for me on the 25th of August.

My goal is to make time for myself to exercise, and to be at goal weight by next summer.

So who's with me?

Summer
Old 08-17-2003, 04:23 PM   #2  

Hi Summerlover! I'll gladly join in your quest to get back on track! I teach in an elementary school, in the library (thus the handle 'Storylady', that's what many of the kids call me!) so I can appreciate the need for the structure and routine. I did well this summer though, lost about 15 lbs of the 30 I gained last school year--by Christmas!! It was my first year and needless to say I used food to feed my stress, which only made me gain weight which made more stress and on and on and 30 lbs heavier.
I'm sort of nervous about starting up again, and we start tomorrow, not only because I did so well over the summer, but because our school feeds us constantly. If it's not the Social committee laying out a spread of food it's the PTA, heaven bless them. So far I've stayed strong and not given in to the massive munchies, but I worry that after a day of 1st and 2nd graders and the accompanying (sp?) stress, I will falter.

What grades do you teach? It'll be great to support each other through the year, maybe other teachers will join in too and we can help each other.
Thanks for posting this, Summer!
storylady
Old 08-17-2003, 08:56 PM   #3  
Mommy, wife, teacher

Storylady: HURRAY!!! I found someone in my shoes!!!