Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 09-19-2015, 01:56 PM   #1  
Restart Date: 1/01/2020

S/C/G: 246.2/TICKER/140

Height: 5'4"

Default Fat girl in wedding pictures

So, my best friend got engaged last night. Yay! I'm so thrilled for her and expect to be asked to stand up with her in her wedding, along with her sister.

I was telling my husband and he asked me how big her sister is and I tell him she's a healthy size. He then makes a face and says that its good I'm dieting cuz I don't want to be the fat girl in the pictures. I told him I can't believe he said that to me and he was embarrassed and said he notices a difference and knows I'm working on it. He really didn't mean to hurt my feelings, but I'm still pissed.

Does he not think not wanting to be fat in wedding pictures was one of the first thoughts in my mind, as f'd up as that is? That I don't compare myself to every single woman I see? That as an engineer, I don't get inundated EVERY DAY by misogynist comments about all female engineers being fat and ugly and knowing I fit that stereotype?

I've lost almost 30lbs and am in a size 14 now. I'm in a panic to lose weight before I go on a cruise in Dec. Haven't started shopping and am dreading it already. I'll certainly put it off until the last minute. And he always complains that there are no pictures of me, even on vacation, etc. Well, duh. And he's no 10 himself. Men are so friggin stupid.

Last edited by leopardspots; 09-19-2015 at 01:57 PM.
leopardspots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 04:15 PM   #2  

S/C/G: HW 233/SW 230/207/165

Height: 5'3"

leopard, I don't think your hubby said what he did to be mean. It probably was his clumsy way of encouraging you on your weight loss. Most males aren't that great at being tactful.