Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 04-30-2013, 06:50 PM   #1  

Default 1500 calories not enough?

I recently started calorie counting two weeks ago an have lost 10 lbs since. I've been eating around 1500 calories and exercise daily. I had been feeling great up until today. I feel extremely fatigued, dizzy and lightheaded. At 5'7, 350 lbs and exercise daily, 1500 calories too low?? I've been told I should eat closer to 2000 but I feel too full after 1500..
Naaay12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 07:03 PM   #2  
Almost there!

S/C/G: 212/163.8/130

Height: 5'4

It depends on how much exercise you are doing (light, moderate..ect), and your age. I guess age affects metabolism. Anyway, here is a calculator to help give an estimate of how many calories you should get:

http://www.healthyweightforum.org/en...ries-required/
Stars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 08:10 PM   #3  

S/C/G: tick'

Height: 5'8

I am by no means a professional at all. But I started counting at 1500/day as well at 252 lbs. I realized that wasn't enough for me. So I bumped it up to 1600.. Still wasn't enough. Finally after 5 weeks of 1700 cal a day, I've adjusted my metabolism to drop it down to 1600. The link Stars posted is perfect. Tells you exactly how many calories you'll need to maintain, lose and gain I suppose.

I'd personally bump it up a bit. Are you eating back your calories? If not, then that seems VERY low to me, for 350 lbs. I'd bump it up and give yourself some room to get used to eating less. In my opinion, when I was doing 1500 off the bat, it was a lot easier to slip into a binge.

Good luck!
Remington90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 04:26 PM   #4  
it's always something