Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 03-26-2013, 05:01 PM   #1  
Lose 1lb. Repeat 99 times

S/C/G: 262/signature/170

Height: 5'5"

Question am I doing it right?

So I have started on this weight loss journey and I want to pause and evaluate whether what I am doing is right?

My work involves sitting in front of a computer from 9am to 6pm (I am an IT professional) so that explains a lot as to why I am here

Every morning I am making my way to the local pool and I get in about 15 laps in 30 mins (pool is 70 ft long) Then I come home, shower and head to work. My office is on the 6th floor and I always parked in the basement and took the elevator to my floor. Now I have started parking on the roof, take the stairs down to the ground floor and then walk up to my 6th floor. (which is quite a task with a heavy laptop bag on your shoulder and pumps on your feet)

I get restless sitting around these days and look forward to evenings where I head to the gym. I do 15 mins of warm up on the bike, 40 mins of elliptical and I am sweating like a umm... person who just worked out a sweat!! ( I wanted to say dog, but dogs dont have sweat glands )

That's a lot of body movement if you think about it. But then again, I sit for 8-9 hours straight with an occasional walk to this floor or that floor for a meeting in some conference room.

Do you guys think if I continue this routine I will be able to reach my goal?

I know diet contributes 80% to weight loss!! I don't skip breakfast, I drink a lot of water, have salads for lunch and try to stick to my 1330 calories limit as suggested by MyFitnessPal. So yes, I am counting calories too!!

My question is - do I have to do something different?
Like lift weights to burn all the fat? My boyfriend (who doesn't have a pound of fat on him btw, is all toned and muscular and flat bellied) hasn't seen me work out but he says I need to add resistance to my workouts to get results. Is that true? Anyone know from experience?