When should I do weigh-ins

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • I actually have a couple questions, I have been weighing myself daily, I was thinking maybe stepping on the scale every other day or even just 1 day a week. When do you all weigh in?

Also I have added lots of fruits and water to my diet and I have noticed a big increase in energy level, and in general I am just feeling better. Maybe it's because I am not eating all the junk I use to eat. Did anyone else notice a big increase in energy/better mood? Im hoping that stays with me through out this weight loss journey.
  • I can't handle the scale at all so I weigh once every 6 weeks or so, if not less. It's up to you! If you keep weighing in daily then make sure to take fluctuations into account. Maybe weigh every day but only have one day as the official weigh in day, aka the weight you track.
  • I am fairly new to the weight loss game, but I have chosen to weigh in on Sundays, with Saturday was my workout rest day. I have read you weigh less on a day after no workout, due to less water retention and your muscles healing, etc. I always weigh first thing in the a.m before ANY water, and hopefully I am able to use the 'ladies room' before weighing. Haha that always makes me feel better!

Hope this helps! There is no right or wrong way- just do what does NOT make you obsess, and whatever makes you feel happy!
  • I weigh in the morning, usually every day. I do keep in mind that my body weight goes up and downs, often in a pattern centered around my menstrual cycle. I usually don't lose 1-2 weeks before then get a "big" drop afterwards. Otherwise, it's up and down daily averaging .5 - 1 pound per week.

If seeing the up and down bugs you, don't weigh so often. There are plenty of other ways to know you're losing weight, the main one being how your clothes are fitting. Try out daily, weekly or even monthly weighing and see what works best for you.