Maintain or not to maintain?

• I'm about 4 pounds away from my normal BMI, and I'm pretty sure I can reach that in the next few weeks, provided I don't completely blow it while on vacation this week. Which I have no intentions of doing,....

Anyhow, after I get that four off, I'm thinking about going in to maintenance through the holidays, just because I'm so tired of restricting calories... Dieting. I've been doing it for 2 years, and I'm just ready to stop. And the holiday months are tough months for weight loss anyhow. However, my goal is still 15 pounds less than that top BMI number I'm striving for.

Has anyone taken a break from weight loss, managed to maintain and then return to weight loss sucessfully?

A part of me is saying to take that break. The other part of me is saying, "keep going. It's only 15 more". I can really just slow it down. As if I can slow it down more, since I'm going so slow already.... But say, instead of trying to maintain a 1000 calorie deficit, go for 500, and see what happens.

When I think about the fact that maintenance is still going to require calorie counting and paying close attention to my weight and what I eat, staying on the weight loss track doesn't seem like that big of a deal.

Just kind of thinking out loud.
  • I did the same thing- I needed a break and took one. I slowed my weight loss down last January and have pretty much maintained since then. I'm going to start trying to lose that last 15- 20 lbs now. Hard to get back in weight loss mode again though!!
  • it should just be about healthy eating, it shouldnt be about needing a break from life. if you're very very strict abut eating then its fine to ease up, but you still need to keep in mind how much youre eating, and what. always. there should be no long term breaks from this.

and like someone else said, the more you take that break the harder itll be to get back into it. its a risky move.