Not losing weight, frustrated, trying to not give up hope

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • I recently started eating healthier to lose weight almost a month ago. when i first began i was tipping the scales at 300lbs, i still am tipping scales but after a month im down to 288. I count calories and make sure i eat healthy as well. i only drink water and never eat junk anymore. My calorie intake is usually about 1200-1500 every day, never over 1500.

The first couple weeks it was just coming off! i felt so motivated and happy about it, now its been a week and my weight has stayed the same despite how well i've been eating and the few long walks i've been doing. I dont get it! why cant i lose any more weight? i know there was a few days where i ate very little calories because i was not hungry and now i try to make sure i get at least 1500 before i go to bed. I feel so helpless now and am doomed to over overweight forever =/
  • I am no expert but I have three questions/suggestions

1.) Are you recording what you eat or just guestimating? It is possible you are taking in more calories than you realize. If you aren't tracking it, I would start immediatly. Additionally, you may be cutting out TOO many calories for your weight and your body is panicking and going into starvation mode. I would use a Daily Caloric need calculator to make sure you have not shocked your system.

2.) Have you added any exercise to your weight loss attempts? Even a short walk may help. ^_^

3.) Have you talked to a doctor about this? When I first started my weight loss, I was in the same boat as you. I cut out a ton of calories and I was exercising several days a week. At 275, I should have been losing weight like it was going out of fashion but I wasn't losing anything. I spoke with a doctor and was diagnosed with Hypothyroidism. I have been on medication for a year and it really helps with my weight loss.