Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 09-08-2011, 01:13 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 168/148/135

Height: 5'8"

Default Eating out on a diet

Hey!

Just started exercising a couple weeks ago. I've gone 5 days a week so far (my minimum is 4). I'm doing about 45 mins of cardio each time and a bit of strength training. (Trying to increase that soon). My mini goal is to lose 15lbs; ultimate goal is 30 to 40 lbs. Also, I'm eating about 1500cals a day. I know for real weight loss it should be less, but I'm easing in I guess.

My diet has been on and off; it's been mostly acceptable, with a few slip ups. I don't enjoy cooking, plus I work full-time and I'm a part-time grad student, so I don't really have time to cook anyway. I eat a lot of yogurt and lean cuisines, haha.

My biggest issue is eating out. I love to do this; I really enjoy dinners with my boyfriend and friends. I feel like there's gotta be a way to go out every week without ruining my diet.

I've completely cut out beer (so sad), and if I'm drinking I have mainly gin & soda water, sometimes wine. If I know I'm going out later, I eat very well all day and save as many calories for the meal as possible. I've been eating only 1/2 of whatever meal I get and saving the next half for an indulgent lunch the next day. But, yesterday for example, the sandwich I ordered was SO greasy that even half of it had to be loaded with calories.

Obviously salads seem like a better choice, but as we know, sometimes they are just as bad or worse than sandwiches or entrees.

I'm not looking for "don't eat out!!!" responses, because it's not a sacrifice I want to make, even if it takes me longer to lose a bit of weight. Just wondering if anyone wants to share their tips on eating out weekly without ruining your diet. Thanks!

Last edited by lissvarna; 09-08-2011 at 01:23 PM.
lissvarna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 01:24 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 163/128/125

Height: 5'5